The Oysterponds Historical Society is led by a Board of Trustees elected by the membership. The Trustees work closely with the professional staff and volunteers who make the Society’s mission possible.

Trustees 2019

Ed Caufield, Co-President

Leslie Koch, Co-President

Ann ffolliott, Vice President

Allison Forstmann, Treasurer

Karin Constant, Secretary

Christine Churchill

Leslie Cohen

Jeffrey Davis

Suzanne Gluck

Robert Hanlon

James Harris

Lydia Irving

Angela Meredith-Jones

Stephen Rotella

Sandra Saiegh

Howard Shainker

Diana Whitsit

Ellen Zimmerman

Fredrica Wachsberger, Emerita


Sarah Mills Sands

Executive Director


William McNaught


William McNaught has been Curator of OHS since 2012. He was previously Director of OHS, Director of The American Museum in Britain, New York Regional Director of the Archives of American Art for the Smithsonian Institution, and Curatorial Assistant and Lecturer at The Frick Collection. He has served on the boards of The American Friends of the Attingham Summer School, The Attingham Trust in London, and The Bath Preservation Trust.

Amy Folk

Collections Manager

Amy Folk has been Collections Manager of OHS since 2003. She is also Archivist and Curator for the Southold Historical Society, and Southold Town Historian. Ms. Folk is currently the Immediate Past-President for the Long Island Museum Association, as well as the co-author of several award winning books on Southold history.

Matthew Montelione

External Affairs Manager

Matthew Montelione has been the External Affairs Manager at OHS since 2019. He received his Bachelor’s degree in History/Secondary Education from St. Joseph’s College in Patchogue and his Master’s degree in History from SUNY Stony Brook. His work on Revolutionary War Loyalists on Long Island has been published in Long Island History Journal and Journal of the American Revolution. Matthew enjoys writing history and horror fiction.

Theresa “Terri” Sweeney

Office Manager

Theresa “Terri”  Sweeney has been Office Manager of OHS since 2019. She received her Bachelor of Fine Arts in Painting and Drawing from The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art, and her Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from Columbia University, Writing Division. Terri has been a published poet, professional calligrapher, illuminator, graphic artist and business owner in New York City for over forty years. In addition, during that time she has also worked in the restoration of historic stained glass with her husband and fellow artist Jack Cushen, completing many new stained glass design commissions as well as historic conservation projects on Long Island’s landmark churches. Terri’s passion for historic preservation is borne out fully by her living in a large 18th-century East Marion farmhouse for the past thirty years.



Allison Forstmann, Chair



Howard Shainker, Chair


Buildings and Grounds

Dick Gillooly, Chair

Ted Webb, Chair



Jan Rose, Chair



Leslie Koch, Chair



Sandra Saiegh, Chair


Ann ffolliott, Chair


Governance & Nominating

Bob Hanlon, Chair



Suzanne Gluck, Chair



Diana Whitsit, Chair



Angela Meredith-Jones, Chair


Strategic Planning

James Harris, Chair

Steve Rotella, Chair

Contact Us

Mailing address:
Oysterponds Historical Society
PO Box 70
Orient, NY 11957


Sign-up for our newsletter