Imagine arriving at the Orient wharf by steamboat and strolling down the street in this fashionable summer resort. Built in 1798 and substantially enlarged in the 1850s, Village House today is open to the public decorated as it was when it welcomed visitors as a boarding house long ago. See the dining room, kitchen, and parlor. Upstairs, the bedrooms have been converted into exhibition galleries, which are open to the public. Village House also features the Beach Plum Shop with books about local history, souvenirs, and unique craft items created here on the North Fork.