Imagine arriving at the Orient wharf by steamboat and strolling down the street in this fashionable summer resort. Built in 1798, Village House served as a summer boarding house for more than a century and today is open to the public decorated as it was when it welcomed visitors long ago. See the kitchen and parlor and go upstairs where the bedrooms have been converted into exhibition galleries. Learn more about the History of Village House and the six new Summer Exhibits housed there every summer! Village House also features our gift shop with books about local history and unique items created here on the North Fork.